American Mineral RegistryResearch & data

Mineral Rights Sale Fees: What Each Selling Route Charges

Updated 67 primary-source citationsSources read October 8, 2026
On this page
  1. Key Takeaways
  2. How much does an online mineral auction charge the seller?
  3. How much reaches the seller on a $50,000 sale?
  4. What do listing sites and brokers charge?
  5. Who pays closing, title and recording costs?
  6. What can a seller owe if a sale falls through or happens elsewhere?
  7. Methodology and Sources

Mineral rights sale fees depend more on the route than on the interest. EnergyNet's auction agreement charges the seller 15% of a sale up to $25,000 and 5.5% near $1 million (EnergyNet, Seller's Agreement, Jul 2026). US Mineral Exchange instead adds a 6% commission on top of the price, paid by the buyer (US Mineral Exchange, Sep 2026), and some direct buyers say they pay every closing cost themselves.

This page sets out what 13 auction, listing, broker and direct buyer routes publish about seller commissions, listing fees, exclusivity, and who pays title, recording and closing costs, then works out what reaches the seller on a $50,000 sale. Every term comes from the provider's own agreement or page and is dated; the full ledger downloads as a CSV. A route that publishes nothing on a cost is marked as not stated, never as free.

Key Takeaways

How much does an online mineral auction charge the seller?

EnergyNet, the auction with a published schedule, takes a commission from the seller that starts at 15% for small sales and falls as the price rises, with a $1,500 minimum.

Mineral rights sale fees: EnergyNet seller commission by sale price band, 15% up to $25,000 falling to 5.5% between $900,001 and $1,000,000
Figure 1: The commission rate on a small sale is almost three times the rate near $1 million, so auction costs weigh most on small interests. Source: EnergyNet (Efficient Markets), Seller's Agreement, revision 2026.07.08.00, Jul 2026. Drawn by American Mineral Registry from the cited source, checked October 8, 2026.

What is the commission schedule?

Below $1 million the whole price falls into one band; above it the rates are marginal, one rate per slice.

  • Properties selling for less than $1,000,000 pay a commission on gross sales price of 15.0% up to $25,000, 12.0% to $50,000, 10.0% to $100,000 and 9.75% to $200,000 (EnergyNet, Seller's Agreement, Jul 2026).
  • The rate continues at 9.50%, 9.25%, 8.75%, 8.25%, 7.75%, 6.50% and 5.75% by $100,000 band, ending at 5.50% between $900,001 and $1,000,000 (EnergyNet, Seller's Agreement, Jul 2026).
  • Properties selling for $1,000,000 or more pay 5.00% on the first million, 4.50% on the second, 4.25% on the third and 3.75% on the fourth, falling to 1.00% over $100 million (EnergyNet, Seller's Agreement, Jul 2026).
  • For properties under $1,000,000, the rate is set by the month's combined proceeds from all such sales by that seller (EnergyNet, Seller's Agreement, Jul 2026).
  • The minimum commission is $1,500 (EnergyNet, Seller's Agreement, Jul 2026).
  • Commission is charged on gross sales price, meaning all cash plus the fair market value of any non-cash payment (EnergyNet, Seller's Agreement, Jul 2026).
  • A purchase and sale agreement signed between seller and buyer cannot change the commission schedule (EnergyNet, Seller's Agreement, Jul 2026).
  • The same bands, minimum and listing fee terms appear in the earlier agreement stamped revision 2024.05.09.00 (EnergyNet, Seller's Agreement, archived, May 2024).

When does an auction charge a listing fee?

Only in some cases, and the agreement and the website describe them differently.

  • The agreement allows a listing fee when pricing guidelines are exceeded and the two sides do not agree on the seller's reserve price, and states no amount (EnergyNet, Seller's Agreement, Jul 2026).
  • A listing fee is collected before the property goes live and deducted from the final commission if the property sells (EnergyNet, Seller's Agreement, Jul 2026).
  • The website's FAQ says a listing fee may be charged on lots of only nonproducing leasehold or assets valued below $25,000 (Efficient Markets, FAQ, Oct 2026).
  • The Quick Start Guide says listing fees of up to $1,500 may apply to such lots, and that a seller pays either a listing fee or a commission, not both (Efficient Markets, Quick Start Guide, Oct 2026).
  • The FAQ says there is no marketing fee and no charge if the property does not sell, provided the reserve price is agreed (Efficient Markets, FAQ, Oct 2026).

How much reaches the seller on a $50,000 sale?

Anywhere from the full $50,000 to $44,000, on each route's published terms. The calculator below works the same arithmetic on your own quote and the costs your agreement puts on you.

Dollars taken from a $50,000 sale: $6,000 at the EnergyNet 12% band, up to $3,000 at the top of a 1% to 6% broker range, $0 where the buyer pays the commission or closing costs
Figure 2: On a $50,000 sale the auction schedule takes $6,000, a broker at the top of its stated range $3,000, and routes where the buyer pays take nothing from the price. Source: American Mineral Registry fee ledger, from each provider's published terms, Oct 2026. Drawn by American Mineral Registry from the cited source, checked October 8, 2026.

Net proceeds calculator

Cash before tax = the quoted amount, less the costs the agreement puts on you, plus any credits it gives you. Fees a buyer pays are not taken off again. Nothing is sent or stored.

Enter the quoted amount.

What does each route take from a $50,000 sale?

The arithmetic applies each provider's published rate to the same price and assumes nothing a provider does not state.

  • At EnergyNet a single $50,000 property falls in the 12.0% band, so the commission is $6,000 and the seller receives $44,000 before other fees (EnergyNet, Seller's Agreement, Jul 2026).
  • Petroleum Evaluations Group says its brokerage typically costs the owner 1% to 6% of the sale, which is $500 to $3,000 on $50,000 (Petroleum Evaluations Group, Oct 2026).
  • At US Mineral Exchange the 6% commission is added on top of the agreed listing price and paid by the buyer, so a $50,000 price reaches the seller in full (US Mineral Exchange, Sep 2026).
  • Berlin Royalties says the accepted offer is the amount received, with closing costs, title work and recording paid by Berlin (Berlin Royalties, Oct 2026).

Is a net offer the same as a gross offer?

No. A gross bid has costs still to come out; a net offer has them already taken, so compare the two only after converting.

  • EnergyNet bids are gross: the seller is paid the purchase price minus commissions, sales tax and other applicable fees (EnergyNet, Seller's Agreement, Jul 2026).
  • US Mineral Exchange says offers it presents are stated net to the seller (US Mineral Exchange, Sep 2026).
  • Mineral Hub says offers it presents are the seller's net proceeds, already reflecting its commission, which the buyer pays at closing; the rate is not stated (Mineral Hub, Listing Agreement, Oct 2026).
  • Mineral Hub says offers are subject to title verification, acreage confirmation and curative work, and net proceeds may be adjusted to confirmed acreage (Mineral Hub, Listing Agreement, Oct 2026).

Putting two offers on equal terms before comparing the cash is covered in compare mineral rights offers.

How do I work out my own net proceeds?

Start from the quoted amount, take off only what your agreement charges you, and add any credits it gives you.

  • A buyer paid commission is not taken off the seller's price a second time, as US Mineral Exchange's 6% shows (US Mineral Exchange, Sep 2026).
  • EnergyNet's commission cannot be changed by the purchase and sale agreement, so its schedule is the number to use (EnergyNet, Seller's Agreement, Jul 2026).
  • Petroleum Evaluations Group says its brokers take commission only for new offers and none if they cannot beat an offer already received (Petroleum Evaluations Group, Oct 2026).

What do listing sites and brokers charge?

Several listing sites charge the seller nothing and collect from the buyer, while brokers publish ranges or nothing at all. Where a listing term is stated, its length varies.

Shortest listing commitment: EnergyNet exclusive term at least 90 days, US Mineral Exchange 30 days, Mineral Hub normally at least 21 days
Figure 3: EnergyNet's exclusive sale term runs at least 90 days, three times US Mineral Exchange's 30 day listing period. Source: EnergyNet Seller's Agreement, US Mineral Exchange and Mineral Hub listing agreement, Oct 2026. Drawn by American Mineral Registry from the cited source, checked October 8, 2026.

What does US Mineral Exchange charge?

Nothing to the seller, by its own account; the buyer pays its commission.

  • It says there is no cost to list and the seller never owes it anything, whether or not the property sells (US Mineral Exchange, Sep 2026).
  • It adds a 6% commission on top of the agreed price, paid by the buyer, and the seller owes nothing if it cannot beat an existing offer net of that commission (US Mineral Exchange, Sep 2026).
  • Listings must be exclusive, but a seller may still accept an outside offer the exchange cannot beat and owe it nothing (US Mineral Exchange, Cost to List, Jul 2025).
  • It requires a 30 day listing period; no charge for ending a listing early was found (US Mineral Exchange, Sep 2026).

What do Mineral Hub, LandApp and Enverus charge?

None of the three publishes a fee to the seller.

  • Listing on Mineral Hub is free (Mineral Hub, Listing Agreement, Oct 2026).
  • Mineral Hub's terms say it may be named in and paid under the parties' transaction documents, with commission terms in the listing agreement (Mineral Hub, Terms of Use, Aug 2026).
  • Mineral Hub listings normally run at least 21 days, basic listings are not exclusive, and no withdrawal charge is stated (Mineral Hub, Listing Agreement, Oct 2026).
  • LandApp says listing land or minerals for lease or sale is free and no commission applies to an accepted offer (LandApp, Oct 2026).
  • Enverus markets its Minerals Marketplace as having no fees, contracts, commissions, markups or platform fees (Enverus, Oct 2026).

What do mineral brokers charge?

One broker publishes a typical range; The Mineral Auction, a listing service, ties its fee to the price without a rate.

  • Petroleum Evaluations Group says brokerage typically costs the owner 1% to 6% of the sale, payable only after closing (Petroleum Evaluations Group, Oct 2026).
  • It says the appraisal is included in the brokerage fee, with nothing due until the minerals sell (Petroleum Evaluations Group, FAQ, Oct 2026).
  • The Mineral Auction says its fee is tied to the sale price; no rate is published (The Mineral Auction, Oct 2026).

Who pays closing, title and recording costs?

The buyer, wherever a route says so, but about half the routes in this ledger say nothing, and an unstated cost needs a written answer before signing.

Who pays recording or closing costs across 13 routes: buyer in 6, not stated in 7
Figure 4: Six of the 13 routes say the buyer pays recording or closing costs; the other seven do not say on the pages read. Source: American Mineral Registry fee ledger, Oct 2026. Drawn by American Mineral Registry from the cited source, checked October 8, 2026.

What do the auctions say about closing costs?

Both auctions put recording and transfer fees on the buyer, while the seller still prepares the deed.

  • On top of the purchase price, EnergyNet's buyer pays recording fees, any sales tax and a handling or administrative fee whose amount the agreement does not state (EnergyNet, Seller's Agreement, Jul 2026).
  • The seller gives no title warranty, title diligence is the buyer's duty, and the agreement does not say who pays for a title examination (EnergyNet, Seller's Agreement, Jul 2026).
  • The seller prepares the outgoing conveyance itself or through a third party (Efficient Markets, FAQ, Oct 2026).
  • Oil & Gas Asset Clearinghouse invoices the winning buyer for the price plus taxes and the recording or filing fees needed to transfer the property (Oil & Gas Asset Clearinghouse, Oct 2026).

What do direct buyers say about closing costs?

The buyers that address it say they pay, which is a claim on their own pages, not a verified practice.

  • Berlin Royalties says it pays all closing costs, title work and recording fees, and cures title at its own cost (Berlin Royalties, Oct 2026).
  • Blue Mesa Minerals calls itself an end buyer and says end buyers charge no fee and pay the closing costs (Blue Mesa Minerals, Oct 2026).
  • Continental Resources lists no closing costs among its reasons to sell to it (Continental Resources, Oct 2026).

Where is the cost not stated?

On the listing sites and brokers above, who pays title and recording is not on the pages read.

  • At US Mineral Exchange the buyer prepares the mineral deed and the exchange holds the signed deed until funds arrive; who pays title or recording costs is not stated (US Mineral Exchange, What to Expect, Sep 2026).
  • Mineral Hub, LandApp, Enverus, Petroleum Evaluations Group, The Mineral Auction and PetroDivest, a broker run by Detring, state no closing cost terms on the pages read, which the ledger lists page by page (American Mineral Registry fee ledger, Oct 2026).

Documents a closing usually needs are listed in mineral rights sale documents.

What can a seller owe if a sale falls through or happens elsewhere?

Under an exclusive auction agreement, the commission can be owed even when the property never sells at that auction, and it is computed on the higher of the actual price or the seller's own estimate.

EnergyNet commission in dollars at six sale prices: $3,750 at $25,000, $6,000 at $50,000, $10,000 at $100,000, $23,750 at $250,000, $43,750 at $500,000, $51,750 at $900,000
Figure 5: At the published rates the commission on one property is $10,000 at $100,000 and $43,750 at $500,000, the sums at stake if commission damages apply. Source: EnergyNet (Efficient Markets) Seller's Agreement, Exhibit C, Jul 2026. Drawn by American Mineral Registry from the cited source, checked October 8, 2026.

What does the exclusive sale term commit the seller to?

The seller gives the auction the exclusive right to sell, for at least 90 days.

  • The seller grants Efficient Markets the exclusive right to sell each property on a signed Property Listing Agreement (EnergyNet, Seller's Agreement, Jul 2026).
  • The exclusive Sale Term runs to the later of 60 days after the listing's stated closing date or 90 days after the term begins (EnergyNet, Seller's Agreement, Jul 2026).
  • A seller who contracts to sell or transfers a listed property to anyone during the Sale Term owes Commission Damages (EnergyNet, Seller's Agreement, Jul 2026).
  • Commission Damages are the scheduled commission computed on the greater of the outside sale price or the seller's estimated value in the listing agreement (EnergyNet, Seller's Agreement, Jul 2026).

What if the sale is cancelled or rescinded?

Some cancellations still leave the seller paying the commission.

  • If preferential rights are not waived within 60 days of sale and the buyer cancels, the seller still pays the scheduled commission (EnergyNet, Seller's Agreement, Jul 2026).
  • If the buyer voids a sale over an understated gas imbalance, the seller returns the price, pays recording costs and pays a sum equal to the lost commission (EnergyNet, Seller's Agreement, Jul 2026).
  • Where a sale is rescinded because the seller held a lesser interest, the seller refunds the price plus recording costs and the commission already paid is kept (EnergyNet, Seller's Agreement, Jul 2026).

How long each route takes from listing to payment is covered in how long does a mineral rights sale take.

Methodology and Sources

Every term was checked on October 8, 2026 on the provider's own agreement, terms or page; citation dates show when each was last updated, and quoted word for word into a ledger with the clause or section it came from; the ledger downloads as a CSV beside this page. EnergyNet's seller agreement was read in its July 2026 revision and compared with the May 2024 revision. Routes were chosen from our comparison of selling routes and the providers that publish selling terms; a provider that publishes nothing on a cost is recorded as not stated. These are terms providers publish about themselves, not observed transactions, and dollar figures for a $50,000 sale are AMR arithmetic on those terms. The ledger is rechecked when a provider changes its published terms.

Glossary

  • Commission: a percentage of the sale price paid to the auction, listing site or broker that arranged the sale.
  • Gross bid: a price before the seller's commission and fees come out.
  • Net offer: a price the seller receives after every fee the route charges.
  • Listing fee: a charge for putting a property up for sale, sometimes credited against a later commission.
  • Exclusive listing: an agreement that only one route may sell the property for a set term.
  • Reserve price: the lowest price a seller will accept at auction.
  • Commission damages: a commission owed under an exclusive agreement when the seller sells elsewhere during its term.
  • Recording fee: the county's charge for recording the deed that transfers the interest.
  • Preferential right: a right of another owner or operator to buy a property on the same terms before an outside buyer.

Sources

Cite this page

Each figure links to its source. If you quote one, link to this page or to that source.

American Mineral Registry. "Mineral Rights Sale Fees: What Each Selling Route Charges." American Mineral Registry, October 2026. https://americanmineralregistry.com/research/mineral-rights-sale-fees/
<a href="https://americanmineralregistry.com/research/mineral-rights-sale-fees/">Mineral Rights Sale Fees</a> (American Mineral Registry, October 2026)